Living History Archive

Memories of a remarkable woman

Erinnerungen an eine bemerkenswerte Frau
Introduction
Braulia Cánovas Mulero of Spain was twenty years old when she joined the French Résistance under the code name “Monique.” The Nazis arrested her in Perpignan in 1943 and deported her to Germany, where she was imprisoned in various concentration camps. She was liberated in the Bergen-Belsen camp and on the brink of death for several weeks before she could return to France. Her wristwatch and ring remained in Germany with the personal belongings of thousands of other inmates. In December 2018, her family came to the Arolsen Archives to retrieve the two items.
Braulia’s Daughter

„I’m surprised. I’d never have thought that belongings of my mother’s would turn up like this.”
Marie-Christine Jené Cánovas, the daughter of „Monique“.

Persecution History
“Monique’s” Path Led Her Halfway Through Europe

Resistance in France and sixteen months in German concentration camps: Braulia Cánovas Mulero only narrowly escaped her demise during the Nazi period.

Braulia Cánovas Mulero was born in Alhama, a town in the Murcia region of Spain, in 1920; the family later moved to Barcelona. Braulia’s father died in the Spanish Civil War. In 1939, she and her mother and three brothers fled the violence of the Franco regime by going into exile in France. After the Nazis invaded that country, Braulia – twenty years old at the time – joined the French resistance group “Alibi Morris”. There she served as a courier between Grenoble and Perpignan.

The Nazis arrested Braulia and her group in Southern France in 1943. She was kept in custody and interrogated for fifteen days, then committed to solitary confinement for a month. In January 1944 she was taken to the Compiègne internment camp and several days later transported from there to the Ravensbrück women’s camp in Germany. In June 1944, the Nazis transferred Braulia to the Hannover-Limmer subcamp to perform forced labor for tire manufacturer Continental. As the Allies drew near, the women were taken to the Bergen-Belsen concentration camp, where Braulia was liberated on April 15, 1945. She had contracted typhus, weighed only 84 pounds and hovered on the brink of death for more than three weeks. She survived and returned to France.

Forced Labor

If I had had to do that work any longer, I’d have killed myself or thrown myself onto the electric fence because of the physical torment it caused me; I no longer had the strength to endure it.

Braulia Cánovas Mulero , about forced labor in the Ravensbrück concentration camp
“Worse than animals”

It was one of the most brutal places during the Nazi era: in 1939, the SS began building the largest women’s concentration camp in the Brandenburgian village of Ravensbrück. The first female inmates were transported there in the spring of 1939. Until 1945, more than 120,000 women were imprisoned in the concentration camp Ravensbrück. They were persecuted as Communists, Jews, Jehovah’s Witnesses, Romany and others. Many of the women were executed in the camp. To this day, it has not been possible to determine their exact number.

Braulia Cánovas Mulero came to the concentration camp Ravensbrück from the French Compiègne-Royallieu internment camp in late January 1944, in a large transport of nearly 1,000 women crowded into cattle cars. “They stuffed us in more than 60 to a car, sometimes 70 and 80…. We travelled for three days in those cars, we lost consciousness, worse than animals.” That is how Braulia later remembered the transport[1] as the beginning of her ordeal of imprisonment and forced labor.

When they arrived in Ravensbrück, the camp SS went about their usual procedure for robbing the inmates of all dignity and individuality: the women had to undress and shower in front of the guards and have their bodies shaved; then they were given inmates’ clothing and numbers. Braulia later recalled how shocked she was at the sight of her friends who finished before her – and the paradoxical fears it triggered in her:

“Because their hair had been cut off, I didn’t recognize them; when I saw them that way, without hair and completely naked …, a feeling of sympathy awakened in me, a feeling of horror and – why shouldn’t I say it – a feeling of vanity. I thought: ‘Do I have to see myself that way as a 23-year-old? It’s horrible; it’s the absolute negation of our selves.’ And I withdrew so far into myself, into my negation, that the fear of having my hair cut off was stronger than the fear of all the physical and mental suffering that awaited me.” *

By 1944, the Ravensbrück camp had long also served as a forced labor camp, where the war production effort was to be redoubled under brutal working conditions. The grounds encompassed sewing and weaving workshops. Adjacent to the camp, the Siemens & Halske company had built factory halls for the production of telephones and radios. Up to 2,000 women worked there. After months spent in quarantine and weakened by illness, Braulia had to carry out heavy physical labor in a sand pit: “If I had had to do that work any longer, I’d have killed myself or thrown myself onto the electric fence because of the physical torment it caused me; I no longer had the strength to endure it.”

In June 1944, Braulia was transferred to the Hanover-Hannover-Limmer subcamp, again to perform forced labor. In the winter of 1943/44, the Nazis had set about establishing a dense network of more than 1,000 sub- and satellite camps around their main camps. These facilities were usually built adjacent to state- and privately owned production plants of strategic importance. Hannover-Limmer was a camp solely for women at the Continental rubber works. There the inmates were employed in the production of gas masks. The inmates’ barracks had actually been designed for 500 persons, but after the arrival of Braulia’s transport they accommodated more than 1,000 women.

In Hannover-Limmer, Braulia was once again subject to the arbitrary harassments of camp imprisonment. There were countless rules, in part contradictory and almost impossible to follow. For example, the inmates were to see to it that their shoes didn’t get dirty. They were under threat of draconian punishment if they broke a rule. There were also the dreaded roll calls that went on for hours, a kind of collective punishment. “We spent January 1 standing in the snow in front of the barrack as punishment for one wrong word. I don’t know what had happened,” Braulia recalled.

Despite the severe punishments, the women resisted whenever possible. In the factory they even carried out “collective sabotage”. Braulia and her fellow inmates regularly brought production to a halt. “We all put our feet on the assembly belt together, causing the fuses to blow; that meant 30 to 40 minutes standstill…. We did that as often as we had the opportunity.”*

The SS cleared the camp on April 6, 1945, sending the women on foot to the Bergen-Belsen concentration camp, located 70 kilometers (43 miles) away.

[*] Neus Catalá: “In Ravensbrück ging meine Jugend zu Ende”: Vierzehn spanische Frauen berichten über ihre Deportation in deutsche Konzentrationslager (Berlin: Verlag Walter Frey, 1994). Also exists in French and Spanish.

Hotel Lutetia
A Highly Symbolic Place for the Survivors

After the war, the luxury hotel “Lutetia” in Paris served as a refuge for French persons returning from German concentration camps.

After the liberation, the French government provided accommodations for returning concentration camp inmates in the former luxury hotel “Lutetia” in Paris. The German secret service had previously had its headquarters there, and many members of the Résistance had been subjected to abuse and torture in the building’s cellar.

Braulia Cánovas Mulero also stayed in the Lutetia for a time in 1945 and there regained her strength. The number of persons who resided there temporarily is estimated at 13,000. Charles de Gaulle had ruled that concentration camp survivors were to have worthy accommodations where they could stay for a few days. The hotel foyer became a place where people came to look for missing family members and friends. Photos were passed around and information passed on. For many, the search was in vain, but some were lucky – for example the singer Juliette Gréco, who was reunited with her mother and sister in the Lutetia. The two had survived the Ravensbrück concentration camp.

A plaque on Boulevard Raspail commemorates these exceptional months in the hotel’s history:

“From April to August 1945, this hotel was transformed into a reception center to receive a great part of the survivors of the Nazi concentration camps. They were lucky to have regained their liberty and their loved ones from whom they had been snatched. However, their joy cannot erase the anguish and pain of the families who waited here in vain for the thousands missing.”

Tribute in France and Spain
Recognition for a Courageous Woman

The French government awarded Braulia the highest distinctions for her activities in the Résistance. Now she is being honored posthumously in her native Spain as well.

Immediately after the war, the French government awarded Braulia the distinction of Chevalier (knight) of the Legion of Honor as a token of gratitude for her “struggle for freedom and against fascism.” In 1988, she was distinguished with the Officer’s cross of the French Legion of Honor. Few Spaniards have ever been granted that accolade.

In Spain, the reappraisal of the Civil War (1936-1939) and the Franco dictatorship (1936–1975) is still in its infancy. The Nazi persecution of several thousands of Spanish emigrants was largely disregarded till recently. It was only in 2019 that the Spanish government declared May 5 the official day of remembrance of the so-called “Red Spaniards” who were persecuted by the Nazis for their anti-fascist sentiments. “Spanish society has long repressed this part of its history and many people know nothing about it,” explains historian Antonio Muñoz Sánchez. “The fact that something like a culture of remembrance has emerged in recent years has, above all, to do with ‘pressure from below’: Local initiatives and young activists are committed to ensuring that more than 9,000 Spanish concentration camp prisoners receive recognition. Also for the first time, we are talking about the 40,000 Spanish forced laborers.”

In Braulia’s birthplace Alhama de Murcia, the young historian Victor Peñalver has campaigned for the appreciation of the victims. Following his initiative, the municipal council officially recognized beginning of 2018 all of its citizens who had been imprisoned or murdered in Nazi concentration camps. In May 2018, the council dedicated a monument with small monoliths representing Braulia and four other citizens as a way of commemorating the victims of National Socialism.

The “IES Miguel Hernandez” comprehensive school in Alhama de Murcia paid special tribute to Braulia on International Women’s Day 2019: The pupils and teachers gave their “Feminist Committee” – an organization that fights for gender equality in the region – a new name: “Comité Feminista Monique Cánovas Mulero.” On that occasion, they also mounted a small exhibition about Braulia’s life and her struggle against fascism. Her daughter Marie-Christine in France was very touched by this acknowledgement and explained that it had always been important to her mother “to stick to one’s convictions and moral principles and to remember that hatred leads to violence, which prevents the building of a more just society.”

Support us

Einleitung
Mit 20 Jahren schloss sich die Spanierin Braulia Cánovas Mulero unter dem Decknamen „Monique“ dem französischen Widerstand an. 1943 nahmen die Nationalsozialisten sie in Perpignan fest und deportierten sie nach Deutschland, wo Braulia in verschiedenen Konzentrationslagern inhaftiert war. Sie wurde im Lager Bergen-Belsen befreit und kämpfte danach über mehrere Wochen mit dem Tod. Ihre Armbanduhr und ihr Ring blieben bei den persönlichen Gegenständen von Häftlingen des Konzentrationslagers Neuengamme. Im Dezember 2018 nahm ihre Familie bei den Arolsen Archives diese beiden Schmuckstücke in Empfang.
Die Tochter

„Ich bin überrascht. Ich hätte nie gedacht, dass wir Besitzstücke meiner Mutter bekommen könnten.“
Marie-Christine Jené Cánovas, die Tochter von „Monique“.

Verfolgungsweg
„Moniques“ Weg führte durch halb Europa

Widerstand in Frankreich und 16 Monate in deutschen Konzentrationslagern: Braulia Cánovas Mulero hat die NS-Zeit nur knapp überlebt.

Im Jahr 1920 wurde Braulia Cánovas Mulero in Alhama in der spanischen Region Murcia geboren. Die Familie zog später nach Barcelona um; der Vater starb im Spanischen Bürgerkrieg. Gemeinsam mit ihrer Mutter und den drei Brüdern floh Braulia 1939 ins Exil nach Frankreich, um der Gewalt des Franco-Regimes zu entkommen. Nach dem Einmarsch der Nationalsozialisten schloss sie sich mit 20 Jahren der französischen Résistance-Gruppe „Alibi Morris“ an und arbeitet als Kurierin zwischen Grenoble und Perpignan.

1943 verhafteten die Nationalsozialisten Braulia und ihre Gruppe in Südfrankreich. Sie wurde fünfzehn Tage lang festgehalten und verhört; danach saß sie einen Monat lang in Einzelhaft. Im Januar 1944 kam sie für einige Tage in das Internierungslager Compiègne und wurde von dort nach Deutschland ins Frauenlager Ravensbrück transportiert. Anfang 1945 kam Braulia in das Frauen-Außenlager Hannover-Limmer, um für den Reifenhersteller Continental Zwangsarbeit zu leisten. Als sich die Alliierten näherten, brachten die Nationalsozialisten die Frauen in das Konzentrationslager Bergen-Belsen. Am 15. April 1945 wurde Braulia dort befreit. Sie war an Typhus erkrankt, wog nur noch 38 Kilogramm und kämpfte drei Wochen mit dem Tod. Sie überlebte und ging zurück nach Frankreich.

Zwangsarbeit

Wenn ich das länger hätte machen müssen, hätte ich mich umgebracht oder gegen den Elektrozaun geworfen, wegen der Qualen, die mir das physisch bereitete, ich hatte schon keine Kräfte mehr, um das auszuhalten.

Braulia Cánovas Mulero, über die Zwangsarbeit im KZ Ravensbrück
„Schlimmer als die Tiere“

Es war einer der brutalsten Orte der NS-Zeit: Im brandenburgischen Dorf Ravensbrück ließ die SS ab 1939 das größte Frauen-Konzentrationslager errichten. Die ersten weiblichen Häftlinge wurden im Frühjahr 1939 dorthin gebracht. Bis 1945 waren mehr als 120.000 Frauen im KZ Ravensbrück inhaftiert – sie wurden zum Beispiel als Kommunistinnen, Jüdinnen, Zeuginnen Jehovas, Sinti und Roma verfolgt. Viele der Frauen wurden im Lager hingerichtet, aber die genaue Zahl der Ermordeten ist bis heute unklar.

Braulia Cánovas Mulero kam Ende Januar 1944 mit einem großen Transport aus dem französischen Internierungslager Compiègne-Royallieu ins KZ Ravensbrück– mit fast 1000 anderen Frauen, eingepfercht in Viehwaggons: „Sie steckten uns zu mehr als 60 pro Waggon hinein, 70 und 80 bei manchen […]. In diesen Waggons reisten wir drei Tage lang, wir verloren das Bewusstsein, schlimmer als die Tiere.“ So erinnerte sich Braulia selbst an den Transport[1] als Beginn ihres Leidenswegs durch Gefangenschaft und Zwangsarbeit.

Im KZ Ravensbrück angekommen, wartet auf die Frauen das Prozedere, mit dem die SS ihren Häftlingen jede Würde und Individualität nehmen wollte: vor dem Wachpersonal ausziehen und duschen, Rasur der Körperhaare, Häftlingskleidung, Häftlingsnummer. Braulia erzählte später, wie sie der Anblick ihrer Freundinnen erschreckt, die vor ihr fertig sind – und welche paradoxen Ängste das in ihr auslöst:

„Weil man ihnen die Haare abgeschnitten hatte, erkannte ich sie nicht wieder; als ich sie so ohne Haare und völlig nackt sah […] erwachte in mir ein Gefühl von Mitleid, ein Gefühl von Horror und, warum soll ich es nicht sagen, ein Gefühl von Eitelkeit. Ich dachte: ‚Muss ich mich mit meinen 23 Jahren so anschauen? Das ist doch schrecklich, das ist die absolute Verneinung von uns selbst‘. Und ich zog mich so in mich selbst, in meine Verneinung zurück, dass die Angst davor, dass sie mir das Haar abschneiden würden, stärker war als vor all dem physischen und psychischen Elend, das mich erwartete.“ *

Im Jahr 1944 war das KZ Ravensbrück längst auch ein Lager für Zwangsarbeit, wo die Kriegsproduktion unter brutalen Arbeitsbedingungen angekurbelt werden sollte. Auf dem Gelände gab es Schneider-, Web- und Flechtwerkstätten; neben dem KZ-Gelände hatte die Firma Siemens & Halske 20 Werkhallen für die Produktion von Fernsprechgeräten und Radios errichtet. Dort arbeiteten bis zu 2000 Frauen. Nach monatelanger Quarantäne und gezeichnet durch Krankheit musste Braulia in einer Sandgrube harte körperliche Arbeit leisten: „Wenn ich das länger hätte machen müssen, hätte ich mich umgebracht oder gegen den Elektrozaun geworfen, wegen der Qualen, die mir das physisch bereitete, ich hatte schon keine Kräfte mehr, um das auszuhalten.“

Ende 1944 wird Braulia in das Außenlager Hannover-Limmer gebracht, um dort zu arbeiten. Ab dem Winter 1943/44 hatten die Nazis um die Hauptlager ein flächendeckendes Netz aus über 1000 Außen- und Nebenlagern errichtet – in der Regel direkt neben kriegswichtigen staatlichen und privaten Produktionsstätten. Hannover-Limmer war ein reines Frauenlager bei den Continental Gummi-Werken. Dort wurden die Häftlinge in der Produktion von Gasmasken eingesetzt. Die Häftlingsbaracken waren eigentlich für 500 Personen ausgelegt; mit der Ankunft von Braulias Transport waren nun über 1000 Frauen dort untergebracht.

Auch in Hannover-Limmer war Braulia den willkürlichen Schikanen der Lagerhaft ausgesetzt. Es gab zahllose, teils widersprüchliche und kaum einzuhaltende Regeln, wie dass Häftlinge sich die Schuhe nicht schmutzig machen sollten. Wenn sie verletzt wurden, drohten drakonische Strafen. Gefürchtet waren die stundenlangen Appelle, die als Kollektivstrafe galten: „Den 1. Januar verbrachten wir vor dem Block, stehend im Schnee, weil eine wegen eines falschen Wortes bestraft wurde. Ich weiß nicht, was passiert war“, erzählte Braulia.*

Trotz der harten Strafen hielten die Frauen ihren Widerstand aufrecht, wann immer es ging. In der Fabrik betrieben sie sogar „kollektive Sabotage“. Braulia und ihre Mithäftlinge legten die Produktion regelmäßig lahm: „Wir stellten alle zusammen die Füße auf ein Fließband und bewirkten, dass die Sicherungen raussprangen, das bedeutete 30 bis 40 Minuten Arbeitsstillstand […]. Das taten wir, so oft wir Gelegenheit dazu hatten.“*

Am 6. April 1945 räumte die SS das Lager und schickte die Frauen auf einen langen Todesmarsch zum 70 Kilometer entfernten Konzentrationslager Bergen-Belsen.

[*] Neus Catalá: „In Ravensbrück ging meine Jugend zu Ende“: Vierzehn spanische Frauen berichten über ihre Deportation in deutsche Konzentrationslager. Verlag Walter Frey, 1994

Hotel Lutetia
Ein symbolträchtiger Ort für die Überlebenden

Das Luxushotel „Lutetia“ in Paris war nach dem Krieg ein Zufluchtsort für Franzosen, die aus den deutschen Konzentrationslagern zurückkamen.

Nach der Befreiung brachte die französische Regierung die zurückgekehrten KZ-Häftlinge im ehemaligen Luxushotel „Lutetia“ in Paris unter. Zuvor war dort der Geheimdienst der Deutschen stationiert gewesen. In den Kellerräumen waren viele Mitglieder der Résistance misshandelt und schwer gefoltert worden.

Auch Braulia Cánovas Mulero lebte 1945 für einige Zeit im Lutetia und konnte wieder zu Kräften kommen. Man schätzt die Zahl der dort temporär untergebrachten Menschen auf 13000. Charles de Gaulle hatte veranlasst, dass die Überlebenden der Konzentrationslager eine würdige Unterkunft bekamen, in der sie ein paar Tage zum Übergang bleiben konnten. Die Halle des Hotels wurde zu einem Ort, an dem Angehörige und Freunde nach Vermissten suchten. Fotos wurden herumgezeigt, Informationen weitergegeben. Für viele blieb die Suche ohne Erfolg, aber manche hatten Glück –  zum Beispiel die Sängerin Juliette Gréco, die ihre Mutter und ihre Schwester dort traf. Die beiden hatten das KZ Ravensbrück überlebt.

Eine Tafel am Boulevard Raspail erinnert an diese besonderen Monate in der Geschichte des Hotels:

„Von April bis August 1945 wurde dieses Hotel in ein Aufnahmezentrum umfunktioniert, um einen Großteil der Überlebenden aus den Nazi-Konzentrationslagern unterzubringen. Sie hatten das Glück, die Freiheit wiederzufinden und ihre Lieben, denen sie entführt worden waren. Aber ihre Freude konnte die Angst und den Schmerz der Familien von tausenden Vermissten nicht wieder gutmachen, die an diesem Ort vergeblich warteten.“

Ehrungen in Frankreich und Spanien
Anerkennung für eine mutige Frau

Von der französischen Regierung erhielt Braulia höchste Auszeichnungen für ihren Einsatz im Widerstand. In ihrer spanischen Heimat wird sie nun postmortem geehrt.

Direkt nach dem Krieg nahm die französische Regierung Braulia als „Chevalier” (Ritter) in die Ehrenlegion auf – ein Zeichen der Dankbarkeit für ihren „Kampf für die Freiheit und gegen den Faschismus”. Später, im Jahr 1988, wurde ihr das Offizierskreuz der französischen Ehrenlegion verliehen. Diese Anerkennung wurde nur einigen wenigen Spaniern zuteil.

In Spanien steckt die Aufarbeitung des Bürgerkriegs (1936-1939) und  der Franco-Diktatur (1936-1975) noch in den Anfängen. Die NS-Verfolgung von mehreren tausend spanischen Emigranten blieb bis vor kurzem fast unberücksichtigt.  Erst im Jahr 2019 erklärte die spanische Regierung den 5. Mai zum offiziellen Gedenktag für die sogenannten „Rotspanier“ die von den Nazis wegen ihrer antifaschistischen Gesinnung verfolgt wurden. . „Die spanische Gesellschaft hat diesen Teil ihrer Geschichte lange verdrängt und viele Menschen wissen gar nichts darüber“, erklärt der Historiker Antonio Muñoz Sánchez. „Dass in den letzten Jahren überhaupt so etwas wie eine Erinnerungskultur entstanden ist, hat vor allem mit ‚Druck von unten‘ zu tun: Lokale Initiativen und junge Aktive engagieren sich dafür, dass mehr als 9000 spanische KZ-Inhaftierte Anerkennung erfahren. Wir sprechen nun auch zum ersten Mal über die 40000 spanischen NS-Zwangsarbeiter.“

In Braulias Geburtsort Alhama de Murcia hat sich der junge Historiker Victor Peñalver für die Würdigung der Opfer eingesetzt. Auf seine Initiative hin hat die Gemeindevertretung am 30. Januar 2018 offiziell alle Bürger anerkannt, die in Konzentrationslagern der Nazis inhaftiert oder ermordet worden waren. Im Mai 2018 weihte der Stadtrat ein Denkmal mit kleinen Monolithen für Braulia und vier andere Bürger ein, um an die Opfer des Nationalsozialismus zu erinnern.

Die Gesamtschule „IES Miguel Hernandez“ in Alhama de Murcia hat Braulia zum Weltfrauentag 2019 eine besondere Ehrung erteilt: Die Schüler und Lehrer benannten ihr „Feministisches Komitee“, das für die Gleichstellung von Frauen und Männern in der Region kämpft, in „Comité Feminista Monique Cánovas Mulero” um. Dazu hatten sie auch eine kleine Ausstellung über Braulias Leben und ihren Kampf gegen den Faschismus aufgebaut. Ihre Tochter Marie-Christine in Frankreich zeigte sich darüber sehr gerührt und erklärte, dass es ihrer Mutter stets wichtig gewesen sei, „fest auf den eigenen Überzeugungen und ethischen Grundsätzen zu bestehen und daran zu erinnern, dass Hass zu Gewalt führt, was den Aufbau einer gerechteren Gesellschaft verhindert.“